Sean Pineiro

Saved Once Twice

Regular price €15,00


1. Someday 03:59
2. Grounds 03:00
3. Freylock 02:59
4. After Six Minutes 03:47
5. Rope & Ruins 02:51
6. Tavern 03:27
7. Green Copy 03:03
8. Victory & Sorrow 02:46
9. Grounds II 03:52
10. Reaper 02:27
11. Magnolias 02:53
12. Tunnel to Castle 03:08
13. Medallion 02:03
14. Labrum 02:29

One of the major aspects of a record label’s job is to review all the demos that are being sent in and decide which ones have the potential to be good releases. One day in the autumn of 2013, we received a demo by a guy called Sean Piñeiro in our inbox. We immediately felt his particular sound was special and that his music had a quality of its own. Sean wasn’t quick to settle on a particular musical style or a living location. After he left his anthropology studies in Utrecht, he moved to NYC to pursue a degree in music composition at City College of New York. Shortly after he completed his undergraduate degree, he moved to Europe. The oldest track on his debut album "Saved once Twice" is "Reaper", which was made in Piñeiro’s closet in Brooklyn, because at the time the only room he had to fit his studio in was his closet.... Literally, it was a closet. "Reaper" is a driving down tempo beat accompanied by dreamy melodies and sound fragments that slowly sneak in from the background. "Grounds" is dominated by a yearning piano and a nostalgic-raw soul vocal that is combined in his very clean arrangement and production. In "Tunnel To Castle" a repetitive rhythm meets a vocal sample with a deep meaning if you listen closely. "Medallion" combines a rich choir with understated wind instruments and the listener gets lost in an ocean of sound. The complexity of Piñeiro’s work is what made Ki decide to release Piñeiro’s album debut.